on .

ISO 9001:2015

UUM now is the process of transaction from ISO 9001: 2008 to ISO 9001:2015. The ISO 9001:2015 Quality Management Systems is based on three concepts namely (i) the process approach which was introduced in the 2008 version, (ii) the plan-do-check-action methodology superimposed on that approach and (iii) risk-based thinking. Instead of treating risk as a single component in a quality management system, risk is now considered and included throughout the standard, replacing the separate clause on preventive action.

Businesses and organisations using ISO 9001:2008 are recommended to identify organizational gaps in order to meet the new requirements, develop an implementation plan as well as provide appropriate training and awareness to all parties that have an impact on the effectiveness of their organization’s quality management system. 

MS ISO 9001:2008 STATUS

UUM obtained MS ISO 9002:1994 certification from SIRIM QAS Sdn. Bhd. On 13 December 2001 for higher education allocation, research, consultation and publication scopes.

In 2003, UUM successfully implemented transition process from MS ISO 9002:1994 to MS ISO 9001:2008.

As a result of the SIRIM audit from 7 till 9 December 2009, UUM once again obtained MS ISO 9001:2008 certification on 11 February 2010.

MS ISO 9001:2008 Registration Scope

Scope 1

Develop and design Degree programmes

Scope 2

Provide educational services for Bachelor’s degree students

Scope 3

Allocation for research, consultation, publication, library and other services

2016: There are 312 quality procedures and work orders


First Party Audits:

These are audits of an organization or parts thereof by personnel employed by the organizations and these audits are also called Internal Audits.

Second Party Audits:

These are audits carried out by customers upon their suppliers (organization that supplies products/service to a customer). These audits are External Audits and sometimes are also called Vendor Audits.

Third Party audits:

These are audits carried out by personnel who are neither employees of the customer nor the supplier and are usually employees of certification bodies. These audits are also External Audits and can be referred to asCertification Audits.