on .

PLEXUS group from UUMIT and Kok Holistik from the Co-Curriculum Center performed excellently in the 13th Public University (UA) Innovative & Creative Group (KIK) Convention when both groups received the gold rating awards at the three-day convention from 1 till 3 Aug 2017 at Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP).

In addition, PLEXUS group also emerged as the champion in the Management Category bringing home cash prizes of RM6, 000.00, a trophy and a rating certificate whilst Mr. Ahmad Ruzaini Janudin was named the Best Facilitator in the Management Category.

PLEXUS was led by Mrs.Yusra Asyikin Md Yunus with the project titled ‘The Difficulty of Identifying Network Switch Location in UUM Campus’. As a result of this project, Locate Equipment System (LOCATE) has been created to identify the network switch location across UUM campus faster and also to simplify the task of identifying network complaints. Besides saving time in the identifying process, it has also contributed in improving the quality of work.

The other winning team, Kok Holistic was headed by Mr. Shamsul Amri Abdul Manap with the project titled ‘The Weaknesses of Co-Curricular Equipment Loan Process at UUM's Co-Curriculum Center’.

The opening of the KIK Convention was inaugurated by Datuk Nik Ali Mat Yunus, the Deputy Secretary General for Development of the Ministry of Higher Education of Malaysia, whilst Mr. Farid Sulaiman, the Vice Chairman of UniMAP University Board of Directors presented prizes to the winners.

The convention saw 39 teams from public universities nationwide competing for the awards in two categories namely the Management category and the Technical category.

The Best Performance Award for the Management category was won by TAHAMMAS from UMS; Best Performance Award in the Technical category was won by SINARAN from UKM; Best Innovation Award (Management Category) was won by VORTEX from UiTM Perak; while INEE MEDICAL from UniMAP took home the Best Innovation Award in the Technical category and the Special Award for Most Promising Innovation went to D-MEDIC from UPNM.

MEDITECH from UniSZA was named the overall winner at the convention and also emerged as the champion in the Technical category. The Best Facilitator Award (Technical Category) was won by Dr Nik Azuan Nik Ismail from SINARAN, UKM.